top of page
Search
  • Sarah Kennedy

"Vegetables are Disgusting"


So I have a couple of fussy eaters in my house who think that vegetables and most 'healthy food' are disgusting. They would rather go to bed an hour early or do chores than eat a piece of broccoli.


So I'm all for hiding vegetables and healthy foods in meals just to break up the usual "ewww vegetable" dinner time compliments they throw my way.


I've been trying to eat lower carb foods lately and these came about when I was hungry, in a rush & had limited ingredients that fit what I was going for


It was a few things thrown together and I was surprised that they actually formed into something that looked pretty edible, even more so that they ended up tasting pretty good.


The kids started eyeing them off and wanted to try them. I guess anything that resembles a muffin or cupcakes appeals to most kids right?


There were no disgusted faces - even after I told them the ingredients. I was shocked.


Maybe they loved them, maybe they just wanted to steal my food.🤷‍♀️ Either way, they were easy to make and pretty good so I thought I would share.


(Also great for anyone following a low carb or gluten free diet)


Tuna & Veggie Egg Muffins


1 large egg

1 tablespoon cream cheese spread

1/2 cup chopped broccoli

1/2 cup chopped cauliflower

1/4 cup Brown onion finely chopped

1 95g tin tuna in spring water (drained)

6 muffin cases (multix muffin wraps are great)


or


Zucchini & Bacon Egg Muffins


Swap out the Tuna, broccoli and cauliflower for:

1 grated zucchini

1/2 cup diced mushrooms

1/2 cup diced bacon

( Makes 8 )


Preheat oven to 180°c.

Put 6 muffin cases into muffin tin.

Use a fork to beat/combine egg and cheese spread.

Add chopped vegetables and drained Tuna.

Mix all ingredients well, then spoon mixture into muffin cases.

Cook in oven at 180°c for 40 mins.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page